Childhood Development/Characteristics

4 areas of development

  • physical
  • emotional
  • cognitive
  • social


refers to changes in the body (gaining strength, growth)
Cognitive Development
refers to the mental process to gain knowledge
Language (under cognitive) Development

(verbal comprehension)

corresponds to the intellect

Social Development
involves learning to relate to others eg:role playing allows children to try out a variety of roles. they learn how to get along with others (Refer to Dramatic Play Themes and Props listing
Emotional Development

involves identifying feelings and expresssion of feelings

eg: providing a positive atmosphere for positive mental health. Respond with positive statements rather than neg.

Infant expresses 2 basic ways 1-Delight by cooing and

2-Discomfort by crying

three reliable indicators that an infant is growing

  • weight gain
  • height increase
  • head growth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *